The Homestead was built in 1856 as a farmhouse. In 1864, the Macphail family bought the property, the same year Andrew was born. The farm allowed the family to be self-sufficient while Andrew’s father, William Macphail, travelled as the Superintendent of Education. Growing up, Andrew and his siblings did the farm work and dreamed of escape! They understood that education was key. At fifteen, Andrew received a scholarship to the Prince of Wales College. This allowed him to receive university qualifications to teach in PEI. He taught in Malpeque for close to three years before going to McGill University in Montreal to earn degrees in Arts and Medicine. Andrew lived in Montreal for the remainder of his life. He had a medical practice, married, and had two children. Sadly, Andrew’s wife Georgina died in 1902 when their children were very young. This was traumatic for Andrew and he could not speak of his wife again, and never remarried. Following his wife’s death he entered academia, becoming the first professor of The History of Medicine at McGill University. From 1905 he spent every summer in Orwell other than the War years.
Andrew was forty-nine when he enlisted for World War I in 1914 but was denied access due to being partially blind in one eye from an accident a few years before. Andrew wrote to Prime Minister Robert Borden to be accepted, certain that he would be an asset to the Canadian war effort. This assertion proved correct as when Borden allowed him to enlist, Andrew set up a field ambulance at the front lines and was soon promoted to Captain and Director of Medical Services. When the war ended in 1918, Andrew was knighted for his services, largely due to his developments in military field medicine and his considerable literary contribution.
The Macphail Homestead displays artifacts of his experience in WWI as a Commander of a Field Ambulance Unit in France.
Sir Andrew was not only a renowned doctor and scholar, but was also a talented writer, writing for newspapers, magazines and journals, and publishing ten books. The Masters Wife is his most critically acclaimed book, published in 1939, one year after his death. This book gives the reader an in-depth view of the Macphail family, the Island life and the social history of PEI. The Homestead remained in the Macphail family until 1961, when the property was donated to the government. The house was vacant for twenty years before it was completely restored, and now visitors can be swept back to the nineteenth century to see how the Macphail family would have lived.
Sir Andrew became a champion of Island farmers. His personal interest, combined with his research techniques, resulted in the development of higher quality tobacco and improved potato crops, making PEI a leader in the agriculture industry.
The Homestead is a non-profit organization and a treasure to PEI. When guests visit, they can immerse themselves in Island history and culture, recalling the days of Sir Andrew.
The history of Sir Andrew Macphail, his geneology and much more historical information can be found on this wonderful site:
Island Register: Macphail Homestead.
The homestead was built in the 1850’s and is known as a centre-gabled house. We are currently doing more research on the architecture and restoration of the house to add to our website. Please revisit our site at a later date for more information.
Community Museums Association of Prince Edward Island:
Spinning and Weaving Room
The Great Room